I can remember being in my mid 20's. Living at an apartment with garage in oak lawn IL near 102nd and Cicero.

Came home one cold winter evening to find a car parked in front of my garage with motor running and drivers door wide open.

I called oak lawn police and waited in my car 76 Buick skylark. When the officer arrived he was looking around very nervously. So I thought I would get out of car and tell him I called. But when I did, he immediately drew his gun on me!! I raised my hands and yelled “No!!!! I'm the one who called!!”

He then lowered the gun an instantly started SHAKING and yelling “OMG, I almost shot you!!” He fell to his knees shaking in anxiety. I found myself consoling him? Telling him it's okay... Why the fuck did I do that? I was the one going to die?

He stated he was a brand new officer and that the car running looked so suspicious. Never apologized.

This began my HATRED for police.